By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

Thank God there is no more football. The SuperBowl was SUPERBoring. I hated both teams and wished everyone lost.

Today, America wins because now its only basketball season till July. Great days ahead.

Let’s get to the 6-pack…

  1. Here’s your weekly reminder that if I could use 3-4 steps when I pick up my dribble I could be a great passer too. #CHEATERS


2. This is the only time I’ve ever wanted to play for the Pacers. The Monta/C.J. Miles bit is incredible.

3. Will Barton makes basketball fun.

4. Old man Dwayne Wade with an old man dunk. No clue how the ball got above and through the rim.

5. Don’t know if Hassan Whiteside was more surprised about Marvin Williams challenging him or snatching the ball out of the air.

6. Nikola Vucevic pulled a Larry Bird over Al Horford. FTW.


Monday Slate for February 8th, 2016

Sacramento @ Cleveland—7pm EST/4pm PST (CLE -11.5; O/U 216.0)
LA Lakers @ Indiana—7pm EST/4pm PST (IND -11.5; O/U 206.0)
LA Clippers @ Philadelphia—7pm EST/4pm PST (LAC -9.0; O/U 205.5)
Chicago @ Charlotte—7pm EST/4pm PST (CHA -6.0; O/U 204.0)
Toronto @ Detroit—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (TOR -2.0; O/U 206.0)
Denver @ Brooklyn—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (DEN -2.0; O/U 204.5)
Orlando @ Atlanta—8pm EST/5pm PST (ATL -8.0; O/U 200.5)
New Orleans @ Minnesota—8pm EST/5pm PST (MIN -1.5; O/U 210.0)
Portland @ Memphis—8pm EST/5pm PST (MEM -3.5; O/U 198.5)
Oklahoma City @ Phoenix—9pm EST/6pm PST (OKC -12.5; O/U 216.5)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Kyle Lowry, Toronto Raptors ($8,700)
Per usual, there are some good options at point guard tonight but a couple of the top guys have games that fall into the “blowout risk” category. I like Lowry against the Pistons due to the game will probably be close, and the Raptors still continue to rely heavily on Lowry and DeMar DeRozan to facilitate their offense. With Reggie Jackson not playing up to par for the Pistons, I can see Lowry giving him fits and snagging a few steals as well tonight.

Bargain(s): Emmanuel Mudiay, Denver Nuggets ($5,600); Elfrid Payton, Orlando Magic ($5,000)

Shooting Guard (High Value): Victor Oladipo, Orlando Magic ($6,900)
Oladipo has solidified his minutes for the Magic and has done a solid job of producing for them despite the rest of the team’s inconsistencies. Oladipo tends to play better against better teams (see his production last week against the Thunder (57 fantasy points) and Spurs (41 fantasy points)). He had a solid game against the Hawks yesterday and played heavy minutes. With Tobias Harris potentially sitting out for the 2nd game in a row, the Magic will rely on Oladipo for offense tonight.

Bargain(s): Archie Goodwin, Phoenix Suns ($5,900); J.R. Smith, Cleveland Cavaliers ($5,500)

Small Forward (High Value): Paul George, Indiana Pacers ($8,500)
First time in awhile I don’t have Durant in this position. The Thunder should blow out the Suns and give Durant a head start on getting some rest for the All-Star Break. The Pacers need to win this game tonight and, even though their opponent is the Lakers, I think this game will be competitive. As a result, the Lakers will rely on George’s playmaking to win tonight. I’m not crazy about this pick because he’s burned me several times, but his price is too low to not roster IMO.

Bargain(s): Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Charlotte Hornets ($5,400); Joe Johnson, Brooklyn Nets ($5,400)

Power Forward (High Value): Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans ($10,000)
I like Davis over Boogie as the big ticket item due to the Timberwolves/Pelicans game probably being a close contest where as I see the Cavs blowing out the Kings tonight. Davis has shown great flashes as the go-to-guy with Tyreke Evans out but still leaves you wanting more. Thankfully, the Pelicans will need him to play lights out against the blossoming Timberwolves frontline of Karl-Anthony Towns and Gorgui Dieng. I expect a big performance out of AD against the 15th ranked defense against PFs on DK.

Bargain(s): Kenneth Faried, Denver Nuggets ($5,700); Aaron Gordon, Orlando Magic ($5,500)

Center (High Value): Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets ($6,500)
Jokic is coming off a bad game against the Knicks who shut him down. Outside of that game, Jokic has played great and been consistent for the Nuggets and DFS owners. He’s got a great matchup tonight to get back on track against the Nets who rank 27th against Centers on DK. I expect Jokic to get back on track with a double-double tonight.

Bargain(s): Willie Cauley-Stein, Sacramento Kings ($5,100); Tyson Chandler, Phoenix Suns ($4,700)

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram