By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

Happy 2016! After taking a brief hiatus, I’m back and ready to get you rich as fuck in 2016. Like Zack Morris rich. You know, you’d be the first guy/girl who “owns the new Razr phone at your office before everyone else” rich. That’s crazy money.

Can’t start the New Year without some 6-PACK, either.

  1. Nick Young is the ultimate locker-room guy on the Lakers. After watching this, you’ll understand why the Lakers gave him a 4-year/$21M contract. The guy gets it and I feel he’s completely UNDERVALUED on the Lakers.

2. The 76ers new defense schemes looked great against the Clippers on Saturday.

3. The Suns (especially Tyson Chandler) look burned out.

4. Kristaps reminds Jeff Teague why he’s an annoying daily fantasy NBA player.

5. No 6-pack is complete without Will Barton using every ounce of his body to dunk.

6. White Euros dunking on white Euros returns as Mozgov straight up SKYS over Nikola Vucevic.


Monday Slate for January 4th, 2016

Toronto @ Cleveland—7pm EST/4pm PST (CLE -8.0; O/U 192.5)
Minnesota @ Philadelphia—7pm EST/4pm PST (MIN -6.0; O/U 204.5)
Indiana @ Miami—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (MIA -2.0; O/U 193.0)
Boston @ Brooklyn—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (BOS -7.5; O/U 203.0)
Orlando @ Detroit—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (DET -3.0; O/U 197.0)
San Antonio @ Milwaukee—8pm EST/5pm PST (SA -10.0; O/U 192.0)
Sacramento @ Oklahoma City—8pm EST/5pm PST (OKC -11.0; O/U 218.5)
Houston @ Utah—9pm EST/6pm PST (HOU -2.0; O/U 200.5)
Memphis @ Portland—10pm EST/7pm PST (MEM -2.0; O/U 193.0)
Charlotte @ Golden State—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (GS -9.0; O/U 208.0)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Isaiah Thomas, Boston Celtics ($7,800)
Thomas continues to the engine to the Celtics train. The Celtics only go when he get’s goin and he’s been great for them all season. He’s pretty consistent on getting fantasy owners into the 35 fantasy point range (7 of his last 8 he’s had at least 34.5 fantasy points) and, even with Marcus Smart coming back from injury, Thomas is entrenched as the “guy/dude” for the Celtics. He’s got a great matchup against the Jarrett Jack-less Nets who were already struggling against opposing PGs (rank 24th on DK).

Bargain(s): Darren Collison, Sacramento Kings ($5,300); Shane Larkin, Brooklyn Nets ($4,400)

Shooting Guard (High Value): Andrew Wiggins, Minnesota Timberwolves ($6,400)
Wiggins also is consistent on hitting at least 30 fantasy points every outing. The SG position is in a weird spot tonight as DeRozan has fallen back to earth, Klay Thompson is in a blowout matchup, and Khris Middleton is playing the Spurs. Most of these guys were on my radar but Wiggins in the only matchup I like. He’s going to get his touches and opportunities to score and I don’t see this game becoming a blowout.

Bargain(s): Evan Turner, Boston Celtics ($5,100); Danny Green, San Antonio Spurs ($4,000)

Small Forward (High Value): Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder ($10,000)
The SF spot is loaded tonight with a lot of good matchups and this is the roster spot I’m spending on. Durant is a good basketball player, IMO. He’s coming off a great performance against the Hornets and gets rewarded with a game against the Kings. I would imagine Gay and Casspi will be guarding him the majority of the nights and with the Kings ranking 23rd against SFs on DK, I feel Durant will have another big game in the Vegas highest O/U on the board tonight.

****UPDATE (2:13pm PST)-DURANT is out tonight due to a right sprained toe.****

Bargain(s): Joe Johnson, Brooklyn Nets ($4,600); Aaron Gordon, Orlando Magic ($3,700)

Power Forward (High Value): LaMarcus Aldridge, San Antonio Spurs ($6,700)
He’s burned me three times this year but when I see a trend, I’m going to follow it. Aldridge has put together back-to-back good performances (hitting at least 38.75 fantasy points) and has another good matchup tonight against the Bucks. Jabari Parker does not play too much inspired interior defense and LA will be needed to provide the 2ndary scoring punch behind Kawhi Leonard tonight. The Bucks rank 27th against PFs on DK and I expect LA to give you value at his price point.

Bargain(s): Tristan Thompson, Cleveland Cavaliers ($5,200); Marvin Williams, Charlotte Hornets ($4,700)

Center (High Value): Brook Lopez, Brooklyn Nets ($7,500)
Lopez has been on fire (that feels weird to write) lately, pouring in at least 42 fantasy points in 6 of his last 7. He lit up the Celtics on Saturday for 52 fantasy points and with the Celtics coming to Brooklyn tonight, there’s no reason Lopez won’t get off again vs the Celtics frontline.

Bargain(s): Enes Kanter, Oklahoma City Thunder ($5,000); Gorgui Dieng, Minnesota Timberwolves ($4,700)

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram