By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

Happy MLK Jr. Day! The NBA has a great slate today starting at 1pm EST/10am PST, so don’t forget to get your lineups in early. Get ready to make some money! But first, let’s catch you up to the weekend.

6-PACK.

  1. Genetically engineered to look like the scariest looking NBA player ever, Boban Marjanovic likes dunking. He also likes staring right through opponents heads and deep into their soul.


2. Gordon Hayward’s hair is a little too perfect and it really annoys me. Just look at this shit.

3. Kyrie Irving took on 4 of the Rockets defenders and highlighted the shit outta them.

4. Shabazz Muhammad welcomed Kevin Durant to the NBA.

5. Steph Curry with Dr. Joe Thompson range.

6. Tony Allen pulls off the greatest fake catch in NBA history.


Monday Slate for January 18th, 2016

Philadelphia @ New York—1pm EST/10am PST (NY -9.0; O/U 202.5)
Portland @ Washington—2pm EST/11am PST (WAS -4.5; O/U 213.0)
Utah @ Charlotte—2pm EST/11am PST (CHA -2.5; O/U 187.0)
New Orleans @ Memphis—2:30pm EST/11:30am PST (MEM -4.0; O/U 203.5)
Chicago @ Detroit—3:30pm EST/12:30pm PST (DET -3.0; O/U 203.5)
Orlando @ Atlanta—5pm EST/2pm PST (ATL -8.0; O/U 201.0)
Brooklyn @ Toronto—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (TOR -11.5; O/U 199.0)
Golden State @ Cleveland—8pm EST/5pm PST (CLE -3.0; O/U 206.5)
Boston @ Dallas—8:30pm EST/5:30pm PST (BOS -2.0; O/U 204.0)
Houston @ LA Clippers—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (LAC -5.5; O/U 209.0)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Isaiah Thomas, Boston Celtics ($8,000)
Lots of good point guard matchups tonight and with Steph Curry and John Wall also playing tonight it was tough picking Thomas. However, due to the contrarian thought, I think Thomas is a good play and can get you the same amount of points as both Curry and Wall tonight. Thomas is going against the Mavs who are 27th against PGs on DK. He’s also been playing very well lately including back-to-back 50+ fantasy point outings in the past week. I like this pick tonight and it also saves you a little bit of money.

Bargain(s): Elfrid Payton, Orlando Magic ($5,300); Donald Sloan, Brooklyn Nets ($4,500)

Shooting Guard (High Value): CJ McCollum, Portland Trail Blazers ($7,300)
Again, lots of good shooting guard matchups tonight but I’m going McCollum due to Washington’s inability to let stop opposing SGs. McCollum and the Trail Blazers are coming off a shitty performance against the 76ers and he’ll be called upon as well as Damian Lillard to score at will against the Wizards. This game is slated to be one of the highest scoring games according to Vegas and McCollum gives you good exposure without having to spend a lot on Wall or Lillard.

Bargain(s): Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Detroit Pistons ($5,800); Garrett Temple, Washington Wizards ($4,700)

Small Forward (High Value): LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers ($9,800)
This is the highest rated play of the night on my board. LeBron will be looking to avenge his Finals lost and they’ll be playing at home in front of a huge crowd for MLK Day. Considering he’s under $10k also makes LeBron a must own tonight. On any given night, LeBron can fill a stat sheet and with extra motivation tomorrow, I expect a huge game from LeBron.

Bargain(s): Tobias Harris, Orlando Magic ($5,900); Jeff Green, Memphis Grizzlies ($4,800)

Power Forward (High Value): Paul Millsap, Atlanta Hawks ($8,200)
Millsap is playing at a very high level (per usual) and has a great matchup today as the Magic visit Atlanta. He had a monster game on Friday against the Bucks with 57 fantasy points and followed it up the next night with a 36 fantasy point performance against the Nets. With Nikola Vucevic having to deal with Al Horford, expect Paul Millsap to have his way with Channing Frye and anyone else on the Magic frontline.

Bargain(s): Amir Johnson, Boston Celtics ($5,300); Tristan Thompson, Cleveland Cavaliers ($5,000)

Center (High Value): Pau Gasol, Chicago Bulls ($8,300)
Pau is coming back from an injury and should be playing today. With Joakim Noah out for the season for the Bulls, Pau will be called upon even more so to continue playing heavy minutes and anchoring the Bulls’ front line. He’s a double-double machine and has a great matchup today against the Pistons who rank 26th against Centers on DK. The last time the Bulls played the Pistons it went into 4 OTs. I don’t expect that to happen again but I expect Pau to have a great game.

Bargain(s): Jared Sullinger, Boston Celtics ($5,100); Andrew Bogut, Golden State Warriors ($4,700)

Get well soon!

 

 

facebooktwitterinstagram