By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

I’m doing my best to not throw out anymore of my conspiracy theories for the week. So. Lots of action last night. The Thunder and Magic played it close as I predicted because I’m pretty good at this game. Durant hit a game-winner. But it was how he shook the Hanes off of Tobias Harris is what got me. I’m guessing Harris learned how to play defense at the University of Tennessee who hasn’t played defense in years.

Small slate tonight. I hope you make some money $$$$!!!


Thursday Slate for February 4th, 2016

New York @ Detroit—7pm EST/4pm PST (DET -5.5; O/U 203.5)
Houston @ Phoenix—9pm EST/6pm PST (HOU -8.5; O/U 213.0)
LA Lakers @ New Orleans—9:30pm EST/6:30pm PST (NO -10.5; O/U 208.5)
Toronto @ Portland—10pm EST/7pm PST (POR -1.0; O/U 203.0)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers($9,100)
Smaller slate tonight so not as many elite options. Point Guard has only two options for me: Lillard and Kyle Lowry. I like Lillard because he’s at home, the game should be close and Lillard loves to battle against elite PGs in the NBA. Lillard has been consistent all season and hasn’t had huge games lately. I think that will change tonight.

Bargain(s): Jordan Clarkson, Los Angeles Lakers ($5,500); Patrick Beverley, Houston Rockets ($4,900)

Shooting Guard (High Value): James Harden, Houston Rockets ($10,800)
Shooting guard is a good position to spend on tonight with several top end options. I like Harden a lot tonight due to his usage rate and I think this game will be close. Harden does what he does best: score and set up his teammates on his drives. Phoenix is trying to figure out their identity post-Hornacek but their young team will keep it close.

Bargain(s): Archie Goodwin, Phoenix Suns ($5,900); Bryce Dejean-Jones, New Orleans Pelicans ($4,200)

Small Forward (High Value): Carmelo Anthony, New York Knicks ($8,500)
Melo is the only elite option at the SF position tonight. I would imagine he’ll be the highest owned player tonight. He’s got a tough matchup against the Pistons who rank 4th against SFs on DK this season. Melo does have 3 straight 40+ fantasy point games in a row and I expect that trend to continue due the Knicks offense running through him.

Bargain(s): Marcus Morris, Detroit Pistons ($5,400); Al-Farouq Aminu, Portland Trail Blazers ($5,200) 

Power Forward (High Value): Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans ($10,000)
Davis is coming off a huge night last night against the Spurs in which he dropped 62 fantasy points including 28 points, 10 rebounds with 4 blocks. He’s got a great matchup tonight to follow up that performance against the Lakers who are dismal on defense. With Tyreke Evans possibly still being out tonight, I expect Davis to continue to be the focal point of the offense.

Bargain(s): Markieff Morris, Phoenix Suns ($5,700); Ersan Ilyasova, Detroit Pistons ($5,500)

Center (High Value): Andre Drummond, Detroit Pistons ($8,600)
Drummond has seen his price fluctuate over the past month going between $8k-$9k. I don’t see it rising above $9k for awhile due to teams employing the “hack-a-Drummond” method to stay in games or prevent Detroit from getting a rhythm. However, he’s too good on some nights to fade him especially on a short slate tonight. Dwight Howard sucks so I’m rolling out Drummond tonight against the Knicks.

Bargain(s): Robin Lopez, New York Knicks ($5,100); Bismack Biyombo, Toronto Raptors ($3,800)

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram