By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

If “Dr.” Phil can call himself a doctor when he’s giving out “advice/motivation,” then I have multiple PhDs to add to my growing and expansive list of PhDs. I don’t want to take all the credit for Kobe playing motivated last night but everyone knows he had something to prove after I said he was “geriatric” in my weekend column. To suggest otherwise is lying. Just look at how motivated he was….

Look at how explosive he was as he got across the half-court. Truly a sight to behold. I mean, good luck trying to block this shot…

Poor Jameer Nelson didn’t have a chance:

Kobe is not done and still has a lot left in the tank. Kobe’s got a reaction if you think he’s done…


Wednesday Slate for December 23rd, 2015
Memphis @ Washington—7pm EST/4pm PST (WAS -1.0; O/U 202.5)
New York @ Cleveland—7pm EST/4pm PST (CLE -11.5; O/U 196.0)
Sacramento @ Indiana—7pm EST/4pm PST (IND -6.5; O/U 213.0)
Houston @ Orlando—7pm EST/4pm PST (ORL -1.5; O/U 206.5)
Boston @ Charlotte—7pm EST/4pm PST (CHA -2.5; O/U 202.0)
Dallas @ Brooklyn—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (DAL -2.0; O/U 198.5)
Detroit @ Atlanta—8pm EST/5pm PST (ATL -5.5; O/U 203.0)
Portland @ New Orleans—8pm EST/5pm PST (NO -8.5; O/U 203.5)
Philadelphia @ Milwaukee—8pm EST/5pm PST (MIL -10.0; O/U 194.5)
San Antonio @ Minnesota—8pm EST/5pm PST (SA -10.5; O/U 196.5)
Denver @ Phoenix—9pm EST/6pm PST (PHO -8.5; O/U 208.5)
Utah @ Golden State—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (GS -14.0; O/U 208.0)
Oklahoma City @ LA Lakers—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (OKC -13.0; O/U 207.0)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): John Wall, Washington Wizards ($9,700)
I’ve learned my lesson. John Wall is playing insanely good right now and his fantasy numbers have been incredible. Since Bradley Beal (and Otto Porter) went down, he’s carried the Wizards night in and night out. Six of last 7 games have seen Wall drop at least 44 fantasy points (with a clunker of 21 FP on Dec. 14 against the Grizzlies). He is playing the Grizzlies again but he’ll be without Beal again and possibly Otto Porter. He’s a must play right now and even though his price is expensive, he’ll get you every bang for your buck.

Bargain(s): Jrue Holiday, New Orleans Pelicans ($5,600); Jameer Nelson, Denver Nuggets ($5,600)

Shooting Guard (High Value): Will Barton, Denver Nuggets ($6,800)
Barton has been on fire over his last 2 games and I don’t see him slowing down anytime soon. He had 58 fantasy point outing on Sunday against the Pelicans and followed it up with a 40 fantasy point performance last night. Barton does everything well: he scores, rebounds, gets assists, and can get you some steals. He’s comfortable in his role as the 6th man for the Nuggets and I don’t see his offensive output going south anytime soon. If Gallinari is out again tonight, he’s a must start.

Bargain(s): Monta Ellis, Indiana Pacers ($5,500); Garrett Temple, Washington Wizards ($4,600)

Small Forward (High Value): Tobias Harris, Orlando Magic ($6,500)
Harris has had some good stretches and bad stretches over the course of this season. Right now, he’s in the middle of a good stretch. He’s coming off a solid 32+ fantasy point outing and exploded for 51 fantasy points two games ago against the Trail Blazers. Tonight, he’s going against the Rockets and their terrible team defense (ranked 28th in points allowed per game at 105.1) who also rank 30th against SFs on DK. Expect a big night from Tobias Harris.

Bargain(s): Chandler Parsons, Dallas Mavericks ($4,700); Jared Dudley, Washington Wizards ($4,600)

Power Forward (High Value): Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors ($9,000)
Draymond has seen his price rise over the past month and for good reason, he’s one of two players right now that is a bonafide threat to have a triple-double every night he steps onto the floor (other being Rajon Rondo). He’s in a great matchup against the Jazz who will be too over reliant on Derrick Favors to carry them and won’t be able to keep up with the pace against the Warriors. I’m not calling a triple-double, but I wouldn’t be surprised if he flirts with one all night.

Bargain(s): Jabari Parker, Milwaukee Bucks ($5,000); David Lee, Boston Celtics ($4,300)

Center (High Value): Nikola Vucevic, Orlando Magic ($7,300)
Vucevic is clearly out of Scott Skiles’ doghouse and now is putting up great fantasy numbers we were accustomed to last season. He’s had three straight 40+ fantasy point outings and he’s playing the Rockets (see Tobias Harris blurb about the Rockets defense). Dwight has been so inconsistent and has had trouble staying on the floor whether it’s foul trouble or his free throws. Regardless, Vucevic is locked in and he’s still at a good price point for fantasy owners.

Bargain(s): Mason Plumlee, Portland Trail Blazers ($5,200); Alex Len, Phoenix Suns ($4,900)

****Daily Fantasy Tip of the Day–In the NBA, confidence plays a huge role for both teams and for players. When a player has confidence in his game, he’ll play more loose and tend to be more aggressive offensively. If a player is on a hot streak, it’s wise to target them for your lineup as long as you feel you are not overpaying for them. On the flip side, it’s also not a bad idea to target players who are on a cold streak where you can get them at a discounted price.

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram