By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

Pray for the Houston Rockets. Two of their players have been memorialized forever and it’s only Wednesday. First, Donatas Motiejūnas. Bless his heart, he came to America in pursuit of playing NBA basketball from Lithuania. He is the poster child of the American Dream and what it’s all about. Now he’s just going to be on a Will Barton poster for the rest of his life.

And God bless Patrick Beverley of Chicago, IL. He had so much going for him. He was a good defender, he started for the Houston Rockets, a guy who worked his way up the professional basketball ranks. It’s tragic to see how it all came to an end:

Please keep the Rockets in your prayers. With all your prayers, hopefully we see this happen again this week.


Wednesday Slate for December 16th, 2015
Dallas @ Indiana—7pm EST/4pm PST (IND -5.0; O/U 206.0)
Charlotte @ Orlando—7pm EST/4pm PST (ORL -1.5; O/U 196.0)
Boston @ Detroit—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (DET -2.0; O/U 198.5)
Miami @ Brooklyn—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (MIA -4.0; O/U 191.0)
Minnesota @ New York —7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (NYK -4.5; O/U 200.5)
Philadelphia @ Atlanta—8pm EST/5pm PST (ATL -13.5; O/U 199.0)
Portland @ Oklahoma City—8pm EST/5pm PST (OKC -9.5; O/U 208.5)
Memphis @ Chicago—8pm EST/5pm PST (CHI -3.5; O/U 194.5)
Washington @ San Antonio—8:30pm EST/5:30pm PST (SA -13.0; O/U 198.0)
New Orleans @ Utah—9pm EST/6pm PST (UTA -3.5; O/U 202.5)
Phoenix @ Golden State—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (GS -12.5; O/U 219.0)
Milwaukee @ LA Clippers—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (LAC -10.5; O/U 199.5)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Kemba Walker, Charlotte Hornets ($7,000)
Walker has elevated his game in the absence of Al Jefferson. Over the past 5 games, Walker has averaged 38.25 fantasy points despite defenses focusing on shutting him down. As a result, Charlotte has won 4 of their last 5. He sits middle of the pack from a price standpoint but he’s also going against Orlando who rank 21st against Point Guards so he should exceed his value.

Bargain(s): Zach LaVine, Minnesota Timberwolves, ($5,500); Jrue Holiday, New Orleans Pelicans ($4,700)

Shooting Guard (High Value): Monta Ellis, Indiana Pacers ($5,400)
Eric Bledsoe is the highest priced of the SGs but I think you’ll get more bang for your buck with Monta against Dallas. Wes Matthews is not the defender he used to be and Monta will be going against his old squad with something to prove. With Paul George slowing down and battling an illness (although he is supposed to play tonight), Monta is in good position to get you at least 30+ fantasy points especially at this price point.

Bargain(s): Alec Burks, Utah Jazz ($5,000); Gary Neal, Washington Wizards ($4,200)

Small Forward (High Value): Carmelo Anthony, New York Knicks ($8,000)
This pains the shit outta me, but I like Melo a lot against the T-Wolves tonight. Minnesota will be playing their 2nd game in their back-to-back and Wiggins doesn’t have the physicality to guard Melo. Melo is also coming off back-to-back 50+ fantasy point outings and, with Kristaps struggling, he’s poised to do it again.

Bargain(s): CJ Miles, Indiana Pacers ($5,500); Matt Barnes, Memphis Grizzlies ($5,100)

Power Forward (High Value): Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers ($9,000)
Blake is in the middle of another tear. He’s had at least 38.75 fantasy points in his last 6 games with a high of 54.25 on December 5th against the Magic. I like his matchup against the Bucks, who are coming off a back-t0-back, especially if Jabari Parker is guarding him (too slow) or Giannis (too weak). With CP3 almost back to full-strength, expect Blake to overpower the Bucks.

Bargain(s): Marvin Williams, Charlotte Hornets ($5,600); Ersan Ilyasova, Detroit Pistons ($5,200)

Center (High Value): Marc Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies ($7,400)
This will be my favorite matchup of the night: Marc vs. Pau. Pau and the Bulls have completely lost their defensive identity. Marc is coming off a monster game against Marcin Gortat and the Wizards to the tune of 56 fantasy points. With Zach Randolph coming off the bench and Jeff Green running the 4, Marc is in prime position to get a lot of minutes and clean the glass for the Grizz.

Bargain(s): Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls  ($5,100); Kelly Olynyk, Boston Celtics ($4,500)

****Daily Fantasy Tip of the Day–The Salary Cap on DFS is just a number. When I first started playing, I tried to use as much of max salary as I could. I would end up totally changing my roster to fit the salary rather than fit my research. The salary cap is just a number. Use it and your research to your advantage.

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram