By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: @DrJoeThompson

We are about a 1/3rd of the way through the NBA season and with Golden State going down on Saturday, Milwaukee is now the #1 team in the NBA until Tuesday when they lose to the Marcelo Huertas’ lead Lakers. Golden State is starting to resemble another team I despise: The Patriots.

  • Steph Curry-Tom Brady–MVPs with great hair.
  • Draymond Green-Rob Gronkowski–fat guys who are good athletes.
  • Klay Thompson-Julian Edelman–gritty 2nd options.
  • Andre Iguana-Jerrod Mayo–defensive stalwarts who are overpaid.
  • Luke Walton-Josh McDaniels–young coaches who are nobodies when their Head Coaches are around.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the NBA started helping the Warriors cheat in the same vein as the NFL for the Patriots. This is something to keep an eye for the rest of the season. If the Warriors gameballs get smaller during the playoffs so Steph Curry can grip them better with his small hands, you heard it here first.

Six Pack from the weekend…

  1. I’m 100% certain Raul Neto is not a basketball player or a human but he’s the Jazz’s way of honoring Jerry Sloan by playing 4 guys at the start of each game, which is what Sloan wanted for years.
  2. If someone tells you the “NBA Cares” program isn’t working, point to the 76ers. How else could anyone explain why Carl Landry is on the 76ers and isn’t in a nursing home? NBA Cares works.
  3. It took a few games, but I think Carmelo Anthony wants to be the leader of the Knicks.
  4. The Kelly Olynyk ponytail look reminds me of every low-level drug dealer named “Derrick” or “Chris” who dies first in a crime movie.
  5. The biggest winner in the Warriors’ loss to the Bucks on Saturday ending their winning streak at 24 games: Mercury Morris’ liver.
  6. The Suns pulled off a double-alley-oop on Sunday. NBA Jam players worldwide dropped their controllers and got laid last night.

Huge slate tonight with Chicago/Philadelphia and San Antonio/Utah games looking like blowouts.


Monday Slate for December 14th, 2015

Toronto @ Indiana—7pm EST/4pm PST (IND -5.0; O/U 202.0)
Orlando @ Brooklyn—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (ORL -2.5; O/U 198.0)
LA Clippers @ Detroit—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (LAC -1.5; O/U 202.5)
Miami @ Atlanta—8pm EST/5pm PST (ATL -6.0; O/U 191.5)
Philadelphia @ Chicago—8pm EST/5pm PST (CHI -13.0; O/U 194.0)
Washington @ Memphis—8pm EST/5pm PST (MEM -4.0; O/U 199.5)
Phoenix @ Dallas—8:30pm EST/5:30pm PST (DAL -4.0; O/U 209.0)
Utah @ San Antonio—8:30pm EST/5:30pm PST (SA -12.5; O/U 185.5)
Houston @ Denver—9pm EST/6pm PST (HOU -5.0; O/U 209.5)
New Orleans @ Portland—10pm EST/7pm PST (POR -3.0; O/U 208.5)


 

Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Jameer Nelson, Denver Nuggets, ($4,200)
Jameer is coming off a huge 42.5 fantasy outing against the T-Wolves on December 11th. He played 38 minutes and flirted with a triple-double. With Emmanuel Mudiay out tonight against Houston, Nelson will get the lions-share of the PG minutes for the Nuggets and, at $4,200, will more than likely exceed his value. He’s a must-own tonight in all formats and Houston ranks 28th against PGs on the season on DK.

Bargain(s): Trey Burke, Utah Jazz ($4,400)

Shooting Guard (High Value): Tyreke Evans, New Orleans Hornets, ($7,000)
With the exception of his clunker against the Celtics on December 7th, Evans returned from injury playing heavy minutes, putting up great numbers, and is a great fantasy play at the SG position despite handling the Point Guard position for the Pelicans. With Jrue Holiday still on a minutes restriction and Eric Gordon taking a backseat in the scoring department for the Pelicans, Tyreke is a great play at this price. He’s going up against Portland who have a tough time containing upper-tier point guards. Tyreke should have a great night with scoring and assists to Anthony Davis.

Bargain(s): Raymond Felton, Dallas Mavericks ($4,900); Gary Neal, Washington Wizards ($4,000)

Small Forward (High Value): Marcus Morris, Detroit Pistons ($5,800)
Bear with me. Morris has not been the model of consistency this season. However, he’s the only matchup I like in the Pistons/Clippers match-up. Reggie Jackson will have to deal with CP3 and Drummond will have to deal with Blake and DeAndre Jordan, so that basically leaves you with Morris, Ilyasova, and Caldwell-Pope as your options to put up numbers against the Clippers. I’m going with Morris because he gets minutes (avg. 36 minutes/gm), he gets shots up (avg. 12+ shots/gm), and he rebounds well. I don’t believe that Paul Pierce, Lance Stephenson, Wesley Johnson, or Luc Richard Mbah A Moute will slow down Morris tonight.

Bargain(s): Al-Farouq Aminu, Portland Trail Blazers ($5,100); Bojan Bogdanovic, Brooklyn Nets ($4,700)

Power Forward (High Value): Thaddeus Young, Brooklyn Nets ($7,200)
Young has quietly had a good season and is extremely underrated. He’s had a double-double in 6 of his last 8 and has been the steadiest performer for Nets. Young does have the occasional 20 fantasy point night but I anticipate another steady performance against a undermanned Magic frontline tonight as Brook Lopez will have to deal with Nikola Vucevic.

Bargain(s): Kenneth Faried, Denver Nuggets ($5,900); Jon Leuer, Phoenix Suns ($5,900)

Center (High Value): DeAndre Jordan, Los Angeles Clippers ($7,200)
Jordan has been very solid over his past 5 games averaging 38+ fantasy points/gm and has had 7 straight double-doubles. His free throw shooting has improved significantly and has allowed him to stay on the floor in 4th quarter, increasing his value to owners and to the Clippers. He’s battling Andre Drummond tonight who has been prone to foul trouble against active rebounders. I expect another double-double and a huge rebounding night from DJ.

Bargain(s): Ian Mahinmi, Indiana Pacers ($5,100); Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls ($4,800)

****Daily Fantasy Tip of the Day–Minutes is a good indicator of determining value and projections for guys on your DFS roster (obviously, players need to play in order to score points, rebounds, assists, etc). When someone is injured, a lesser-valued player has to take his share of the minutes and give you good value at a low price.

Get well soon!

 

facebooktwitterinstagram