By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

First off, Happy Thursday. I thought that would be nice to say today.

Any chance I can reference Vlade Divac, I will. Paul Millsap did his best Vlade Divac impression with a scoop layup and a look at the ref for a foul at the end of this Vine.

Just savvy basketball Vladamentals, if you ask me.

Also, Derrick Rose crosses Andrew Bogut using a very slow crossover that would make Division III players all across America wet.

Of course Bogut was going to make him earn the layup by hacking the shit outta him. Doesn’t faze DRose.


Thursday Slate for January 21th, 2016
Detroit @ New Orleans—8pm EST/5pm PST (NO -1.5; O/U 205.5)
LA Clippers @ Cleveland—8pm EST/5pm PST (CLE -6.0; O/U 206.5)
Memphis @ Denver—9pm EST/6pm PST (MEM -2.0; O/U 195.5)
Atlanta @ Sacramento—10pm EST/7pm PST (SAC -1.0; O/U 216.5)
San Antonio @ Phoenix—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (SA -14.5; O/U 200.5)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Chris Paul, Los Angeles Clippers ($9,800)
Paul had a huge game in his last contest against the Rockets. He really crushed it on both ends and dropped 69! fantasy points. Coming off two days rest, he’ll be called upon to carry the load again against the Cavs tonight who are desperate to get the bad Warriors taste out of their mouth. Paul should have his way with Kyrie and Delly and lead the Clippers in a variety of ways to stay in this game.

Bargain(s): Jeff Teague, Atlanta Hawks ($5,800); Darren Collison, Sacramento Kings ($5,100) 

Shooting Guard (High Value): Tyreke Evans, New Orleans Pelicans ($7,700)
Evans has struggled lately with his knee injury. He continues to insist on playing on it to the detriment of his team. However, his recent struggles will probably scare off some people from playing him tonight. He’s got a great matchup against the Pistons who literally played one of the longest games in NBA history last night due to hack-a-Drummond method. Tyreke will be a good contrarian pick tonight if he gets loose.

Bargain(s): J.J. Redick, Los Angeles Clippers ($5,600); J.R. Smith, Cleveland Cavaliers ($5,200)

Small Forward (High Value): LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers ($9,700)
I’m not sure any player in the NBA is more anxious to get back on the court against an elite team than LeBron. After the Cavs got blown out by the Warriors, they were rewarded with a cupcake in Brooklyn last night, a game in which they cruised to victory. Tonight, they got the Blake Griffin-less Clippers, but LeBron will need to be at his best against CP3, JJ (I can’t believe I typed that), and DeAndre Jordan. Expect LeBron to take over at many points in this game.

Bargain(s): Kent Bazemore, Atlanta Hawks ($5,600); P.J. Tucker, Phoenix Suns ($5,000) 

Power Forward (High Value): DeMarcus Cousins, Sacramento Kings ($10,600)
Boogie went off again last night. Granted, he was going against the Lakers who were short-handed in the front court but he still managed to have a 65 fantasy point game. He gets to play the Hawks at home tonight who are in the middle of their west coast road trip and in their second game of a back-to-back. The Hawks currently rank 24th against PFs on DK and I expect Boogie to continue his dominant ways.

Bargain(s): Ersan Ilyasova, Detroit Pistons ($5,700); Darrell Arthur, Denver Nuggets ($4,900)

Center (High Value): Marc Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies ($7,600)
Gasol has been trending up over his last 4 games pouring in at least 39.75 fantasy points per game over that stretch. Gasol and Jusuf Nurkic aren’t on the friendliest of terms and that should bode well for Marc who is bigger and craftier around the basket and should prey on Nurkic’s aggressive instincts to want to shut him down. This is slated to be a low scoring affair even by Nuggets standards, but Marc should be the shining light in this game if you’re looking for exposure between the early and late games.

Bargain(s): Jusuf Nurkic, Denver Nuggets ($4,600); Alex Len, Phoenix Suns ($3,600)

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram