By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

Look out, Hollywood. There’s a new power couple in town. “PAldrich” (TRADEMARK) came to play last night and lead the Clippers to a win over the Heat last night. That’s Chris Paul and Cole Aldrich to people who aren’t in the “know.” PAldrich is definitely better than StocktonMalone. That name just blows.

Also, Salah Mejri graduated from the Mark Madsen School of Dunking and dominated the Thunder with two vicious dunks.


Thursday Slate for January 14th, 2016

Toronto @ Orlando (in LONDON, ENGLAND)—3pm EST/12pm PST (TOR -4.0; O/U 193.5)
Chicago @ Philadelphia—7pm EST/4pm PST (CHI -8.5; O/U 204.0)
Detroit @ Memphis—8pm EST/5pm PST (MEM -1.5; O/U 192.5)
Cleveland @ San Antonio—8pm EST/5pm PST (SA -6.0; O/U 196.0)
Sacramento @ Utah—9pm EST/6pm PST (UTA -2.5; O/U 200.5)
LA Lakers @ Golden State—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (GS -17.0; O/U 216.0)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Reggie Jackson, Detroit pistons ($7,100)
Jackson tends to have two good games, then takes a night off with a fantasy point total in the 20s. He poured in 28.75 fantasy points in his last game so he should be on the upswing. He also walks into a great matchup against the Grizzlies who have struggled all year at defending the Point Guard position (rank 23rd against PGs on DK). With Mike Conley still out, Chalmers and–recent D-League call-up–Elliot Williams will be tasked with stopping Jackson. And I just don’t see that happening.

Bargain(s): Tony Parker, San Antonio Spurs ($5,100); D’Angelo Russell, Los Angeles Lakers ($4,800)

Shooting Guard (High Value): Jimmy Butler, Chicago Bulls ($8,800)
Butler will be a top pick tonight despite the blowout potential in the Bulls/76ers tilt. Pau Gasol will not play tonight due to an shoulder/Achilles injury, putting the onus on Butler to facilitate and score. Also, Derrick Rose may sit tonight as well with knee soreness so this could turn into a huge night for Butler. He sprained his ankle in the Bulls’ last game against the Bucks and still dropped 50 fantasy points. He’s been red hot and will continue to play at a high level against the lowly 76ers.

Bargain(s): Courtney Lee, Memphis Grizzlies ($4,200); Danny Green, San Antonio Spurs ($3,900)

Small Forward (High Value): Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs ($8,100)
I may immediately regret this, but Kawhi tends to rise to the occasion in big games. LeBron will have to continuously deal with Kawhi and Danny Green who are both annoyingly good defenders. Kawhi will happily rack up assists to DG and LaMarcus Aldridge and get his points too. I see this as a close game with Kawhi leading the Spurs.

Bargain(s): Marcus Morris, Detroit Pistons ($5,200); Jeff Green, Memphis Grizzlies ($5,000) 

Power Forward (High Value): Nerlens Noel, Philadelphia 76ers ($6,700)
Nerlens is starting to play the like the Nerlens from last year. He had another great game against the Cavs in his last game to the tune of 35+ fantasy points. He’s walking into a good matchup tonight against the Bulls who are playing without Pau Gasol. I expect his active defense and energy helping the 76ers keep it close tonight.

Bargain(s): Tristan Thompson, Cleveland Cavaliers ($4,900); Bobby Portis, Chicago Bulls ($4,100)

Center (High Value): Marc Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies ($7,400)
As I’ve stated in the past, Gasol is a mixed bag on any given night this year. With Mike Conley going down to injury, most figured Gasol would have an even bigger role in the offense due to his passing and leadership. That has not entirely been the case. Enter Andre Drummond. Gasol tends to play better against guys who are not used to guarding skilled Centers as is the case with Drummond. The Pistons also rank 26th against Centers on DK so this should be an ideal matchup for Gasol to expose.

Bargain(s): Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls ($5,100); Andrew Bogut, Golden State Warriors ($4,700)

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram