By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: Twitter @DrJoeThompson

While I don’t like to show as much love to LeBron as many other NBA writers because it’s easy and overdone, I have to today. He performed my favorite dunk last night and legit almost brought down the entire American Airlines Arena in Dallas in the process.

Lebron has never been one to “mail it in.” I know, I’m the worst.

Also, if this isn’t the Lakers offense in a nutshell, I don’t know what is.

Lou Williams doesn’t know what to do, almost turns the ball over, and says, “fuck it,” and fires in a three. I couldn’t have drew it up better myself.


Wednesday Slate for January 13th, 2016

Milwaukee @ Washington—7pm EST/4pm PST (WAS -6.0; O/U 206.5)
Atlanta @ Charlotte—7pm EST/4pm PST (ATL -3.0; O/U 204.5)
New York @ Brooklyn—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (NY -3.0; O/U 191.5)
Indiana @ Boston—8pm EST/5pm PST (BOS -2.5; O/U 203.0)
Minnesota @ Houston—8pm EST/5pm PST (HOU -8.5; O/U 205.5)
Dallas @ Oklahoma City—8pm EST/5pm PST (OKC -10.0; O/U 207.5)
Golden State @ Denver—9pm EST/6pm PST (GS -9.5; O/U 213.0)
Utah @ Portland—10pm EST/7pm PST (POR -2.5; O/U 192.5)
New Orleans @ Sacramento—10pm EST/7pm PST (SAC -8.0; O/U 214.5)
Miami @ LA Clippers—10:30pm EST/7:30pm PST (LAC -5.0; O/U 197.0)


Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Rajon Rondo, Sacramento Kings ($8,600)
There are several good options at the Point Guard position tonight. I’m going with Rondo because he’s got a great matchup against the Pelicans (25th against PGs on DK) who may also be playing without Anthony Davis tonight AND they are in the second set of a back-to-back. Rondo did not have a great game in his last contest, yet his price went up. The high price may scare some people away but it won’t with me and I like him getting LOOSE tonight.

Bargain(s): Emmanuel Mudiay, Denver Nuggets ($5,400); Norris Cole, New Orleans Pelicans ($3,700)

Shooting Guard (High Value): Aaron Afflalo, New York Knicks ($4,900)
This pick is contingent on Carmelo Anthony’s status tonight. Melo sprained his ankle last night in the first half against the Celtics and tried to play the second half to no avail. I would imagine he’ll be out tonight and this will put the scoring onus firmly on the shoulders of Afflalo and Porzingis. The Nets are a mess right now and don’t have much of an identity outside of Brook Lopez. I like Afflalo having a great game and getting you lots of value at this price point.

Bargain(s): Garrett Temple, Washington Wizards ($4,600); Kyle Korver, Atlanta Hawks ($4,300)

Small Forward (High Value): Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder ($9,800)
I’m sticking with KD on back-to-back nights. His price is still below $10k which is a steal IMO. The Mavs lost a tough game last night in OT to the Cavs and may possibly be resting some guys, so this game has potential to be a blowout. However, if the Mavs rest some guys up, that only means easier scoring opportunities for Durant. Although, the Mavs rank 3rd against SFs on DK, I throw those rankings out the window on elite players like Durant.

Bargain(s): Chandler Parsons, Dallas Mavericks ($5,400); Wesley Johnson, Los Angeles Clippers ($3,800) 

Power Forward (High Value): Ryan Anderson, New Orleans Pelicans ($6,500)
This pick will be subject to change if AD plays tonight. Anderson is benefitting greatly from the injury of Anthony Davis. He’s getting more minutes and more shots for the Pelicans who are desperate for another scorer to emerge behind Tyreke Evans while Davis is down. He’s had 3 straight games of 35+ minutes of action. Although his fantasy points have gone down in each game, he’s still getting plenty of scoring opportunities for the Pelicans. I like his matchup tonight if AD is out.

Bargain(s): Cody Zeller, Charlotte Hornets ($5,500); Jabari Parker, Milwaukee Bucks ($4,900)

Center (High Value): Brook Lopez, Brooklyn Nets ($7,600)
Brook is the only sure thing for the Nets right now as one of my favorite fantasy go-tos is struggling in Thad Young and Joe Johnson is playing like he’s 55-years-old. With Jack out, Lopez has been the focal point of the Nets offense with him essentially getting a touch on every possession. With the Knicks potentially playing without Melo tonight, that means the Nets don’t have to score as much and this could be a game where they don’t get blown out. For that reason, I like the Nets getting the ball early and often to Brook.

Bargain(s): Ian Mahinmi, Indiana Pacers ($5,000); Enes Kanter, Oklahoma City Thunder ($4,600)

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram