By Dr. Joe Thompson, Mostly Sports Daily Fantasy Doctor: @DrJoeThompson

Hey folks, Dr. Joe Thompson here to diagnose any fantasy hoops related ailments that have been affecting your lineups. My services include but not limited to:

  • STGs (Second Terrible Guesses)
  • Common Cold Picking
  • CAPS (Carmelo Anthony Picking Syndrome)
  • Oral Herpes (HSV-1)

What makes you so qualified?
I’ve studied all NBA teams over the past 3 years and gotten to the root of many self-induced fantasy afflictions that have plagued daily owners for years.

Wow. Impressive. I bet you’re expensive. However, I lost $6 last night on the DraftKings Sharpshooter. So, I don’t have much to spend. How much do you charge? 
I’m giving my advice away for free. You see, I’ve made money (more than I’ve lost) playing daily fantasy for awhile now. So, I don’t need your money. I love charity and I want to give back to my fantasy brethren. Also, I took the Hippocratic Oath to save (daily fantasy players’) lives.

You seem really arrogant. Are you a douche bag? 
To most men and women, Yes. But, I’m honest. I’m also a front-wiper.

Okay, TMI. Just give me your picks today. 

Wednesday Slate for December 9th, 2015

Chicago @ Boston—7pm EST/4pm PST (BOS -3.0; O/U 200.0)
Houston @ Washington—7pm EST/4pm PST (WAS -4.0; O/U 215.5)
Miami @ Charlotte—7pm EST/4:30pm PST (CHA -1.0; O/U 193.5)
San Antonio @ Toronto—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (SA -6.0; O/U 189.5)
Memphis @ Detroit—7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST (DET -4.0; O/U 193.5)
LA Lakers @ Minnesota—8pm EST/5pm PST (MIN -7.0; O/U 204.5)
LA Clippers @ Milwaukee—8pm EST/5pm PST (LAC -5.5; O/U 200.0)
New York @ Utah—9pm EST/6pm PST (UTA -3.0; O/U 192.5)
Orlando @ Phoenix—9pm EST/6pm PST (PHO -4.5; O/U 205.5)
Atlanta @ Dallas—9:30pm EST/6:30pm PST (ATL -1.0; O/U 202.5)

Prices are courtesy of DraftKings.

Point Guard (High Value): Deron Williams, Dallas Mavericks ($6,400)
Williams has stayed consistent in December and is averaging 34+ fantasy points since December 1 (with a 54 fantasy point outburst on December 1). With JJ Barea and Devin Harris nursing injuries, Williams has logged heavy minutes which has allowed him to put up good numbers. Atlanta is middle of the road when it comes to stopping PGs so I expect DWill to continue putting up good numbers.

Bargain(s): Cory Joseph, Toronto Raptors ($4,500); Trey Burke, Utah Jazz ($4,100)

Phoenix Suns guard Eric Bledsoe (2) celebrates after hitting a shot during the fourth quarter of an NBA basketball game against the Portland Trail Blazers in Portland, Ore., Saturday, Oct. 31, 2015. The Suns won the game 101-90. (AP Photo/Steve Dykes)

Phoenix Suns guard Eric Bledsoe (2) celebrates after hitting a shot during the fourth quarter of an NBA basketball game against the Portland Trail Blazers in Portland, Ore., Saturday, Oct. 31, 2015. The Suns won the game 101-90. (AP Photo/Steve Dykes)

Shooting Guard (High Value): Eric Bledsoe, Phoenix Suns, ($8,100)
Bledsoe loves to sit in between 35-45 fantasy points a night with the occasional 50+ outburst. That type of production has always kept him in the upper elite price range without ever really cracking the $9k mark. Thankfully for us, he sits at a good price point and should produce well beyond his cost. Orlando is coming to Phoenix for its 2nd game of a back-to-back and Elfrid Payton and company are not necessarily known for guarding the perimeter effectively. Expect a lot of buckets from Bledsoe.

Bargain(s): OJ Mayo, Milwaukee Bucks ($5,200); Wes Matthews, Dallas Mavericks ($5,000)

Small Forward (High Value): Otto Porter, Washington Wizards ($5,800)
Porter has benefitted the most from the absence of Marcin Gortat and the slew of injuries to the Wizards frontline. The past two games has seen Porter sliding to the 4 and 5 on occasion and he’s responded with a 35+ fantasy point performance and a 43+ fantasy point performance. The Wizards are expecting Gortat back tonight, but with Houston coming off a long game against Joe Johnson and Brooklyn last night, fantasy owners should see another good performance out of Porter.

Bargain(s): Jeff Green, Memphis Grizzlies ($5,000); Marcus Thornton, Houston Rockets ($3,800)

Power Forward (High Value): LaMarcus Aldridge ($7,000)
LaMarcus had an incredible 22 minutes against the lowly 76ers on Monday. He figures to stay hot against the Raptors who will have their hands full dealing with him and Tim Duncan. The Raptors have given up big numbers ove the past 5 games to PF (to the tune of 50+ fantasy point outings). Aldridge will be in a “plus” matchup against any of the Raptors’ bigs and, as a result, expect big minutes and numbers out of Aldridge.

Bargain(s): Jon Leuer, Phoenix Suns ($4,800); Cody Zeller, Charlotte Bobcats ($4,600)

Center (High Value): Pau Gasol, Chicago Bulls ($7,700)
Gasol’s been red-hot over the past 4 games averaging 51.8 fantasy points over that span. Incredibly, his price has not sky-rocketed as a result making him one of the best value plays. He’s had 4 straight double-doubles and had a double-doubles in 6 of his last 7 games. Boston can rebound with most teams but they tend to have a tough time with big men who have an array of skills.

Bargain(s): Gorgui Deng ($4,900); Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls ($4,500)

Get well soon!

facebooktwitterinstagram